ColSo’s ‘Winter Members Show: Renewal’ Opening Feb. 28

The Copley Society of Art is proud to present the annual juried Winter Members Show, an exquisite showcase of unique works by artist members in a variety of mediums and styles. This exhibition opens with a reception on Thursday, Feb. 28, from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. at the Co|So Gallery, located at 158 Newbury Street. and continues through April 28.

This year’s show, Renewal, features a range of styles and mediums including painting, photography, graphite, and pastel. Co|So is honored to have Meg White, Director of Gallery NAGA, jury this year’s Winter Members Show. First prize was awarded to Acadia Mezzofanti for Self-Portrait: Untamed, an illusionistic photograph. Second prize was given to Carolyn Latanision for Powered Down, Bethlehem Steel, a watercolor of a rusted steel engine, while third prize was granted to Mary Hughes for her abstract painting evoking winter ice surfaces, “Ice Flow I.”

The Copley Society of Art (Co|So), America’s oldest non-profit arts organization, is committed to the advancement, enjoyment, and promotion of its member artists and the visual arts. The organization, founded in 1879, comprises juried artists who are selected by a credentialed art committee. Co|So provides artists with a gallery for exhibiting and selling their work and a platform for engaging and educating the community.

Congratulations to our following artist members, who will be

featured in the exhibit along with their colleagues:

Doug Adams, CA

Cariappa Annaiah, CA

Hilary Baldwin, CA

Frank Bartucca

Christian Bergeron

JoAnne Chittick

Marc Civitarese

Hannah Cole Dahar

Jim Connelly, CA

Dan Cook, CA

Daniel Dempster, CA

Chris Firger

Ann Trainor Domingue, CA

Josephine Foote

Steven Foote

Susan Hollis, CA

Mary Hughes, CA

Carolyn Latanision, CA

Ellen McGill

Melanie McGraw

Lori Mehta

Acadia Mezzofanti, CA

Barbara Morse, CA

Paul Noel

Kat O’Connor, CM

Roger Palframan, CA

Joe Reardon, CA

Jeanne Rosier Smith, CM

John Rufo

Tony Schwartz, CA

Susan Valentine

James C. Varnum

Jon Allan Marshall, CM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.